Maddon and Gibson Take FanSided’s Manager of the Year Awards


Call to the Pen announced its winners for American League and National League manager of the year on Friday, with the Tampa Bay Rays’ Joe Maddon taking the AL crown and the Arizona Diamondbacks’ Kirk Gibson taking the NL title.

Writers from each of FanSided’s MLB sites submitted their votes for several awards by Oct. 3 and the results will be periodically posted throughout the month.

Three managers for each league were voted on – NL sites voting for NL awards and AL sites voting for AL awards.

I voted Maddon first, Jim Leyland second and Manny Acta third. Had I voted on the NL awards, I was leaning Gibson, though I really like the job Ron Roenicke did in Milwaukee – obviously he had much superior talent on his roster which is why I would have ultimately voted Gibson. Roenicke deserves his props though – the decision to hit Nyjer Morgan second instead of first ended up putting his team in the NLCS.

As more awards are doled out, you can learn about them here or by visiting Call to the Pen.