Don’t Hassle The Hos


FanSided’s 2011 MLB awards continued to be unveiled on Tuesday with the A.L. and N.L. Rookies of the Year being announced over at Call to the Pen.

Big surprise on the American League side as Eric Hosmer took down Jeremy Hellickson for the award. Just so we’re clear, I am being sarcastic.

Hosmer first grabbed my attention in spring training when I was at a Cubs/Royals game and the Hos smoked a grand slam over the right field wall in Surprise and I vowed to remember the name.

Little did I know he’d be a fixture in the middle of Kansas City’s lineup just a couple months later after dominating at Triple-A while Kila Ka’aihue struggled to make an impact at the big league level.

You can read more about the voting as well as the Hos by clicking the link at the beginning of this sentence. I voted Ivan Nova second and Hellickson third, with Mark Trumbo and Brett Lawrie not far behind if the voting had been five deep instead of three.

On the N.L. side, Atlanta Braves closer Craig Kimbrel was the big winner over Freddie Freeman and Danny Espinosa. Check. It. Out.

You can visit Call to the Pen daily to see the winners as they’re announced, or they’ll be reproduced and linked up here if you insist on staying loyal to Southside Showdown and ONLY Southside Showdown (who can blame you?).