Paul Konerko nominated for Roberto Clemente Award


Sep 3, 2014; Minneapolis, MN, USA; Minnesota Twins first baseman Joe Mauer (7), Chicago White Sox designated hitter Paul Konerko (14) and Minnesota Twins relief pitcher Glen Perkins (15) pose for a photo during Chicago White Sox designated hitter Paul Konerko

It was announced that the Chicago White Sox nominee for the 2014 MLB Roberto Clemente award is Paul Konerko.

Oct 28, 2012; Detroit, MI, USA; The 2012 Roberto Clemente Award trophy during a press conference prior to game four of the 2012 World Series between the San Francisco Giants and the Detroit Tigers at Comerica Park. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

Each team nominates one player each season for the award, and for Konerko this will be his last chance to win the award as he’ll be retiring at the end of this season.

In a press release from MLB it describes the Roberto Clemente award as the following:

"“Each Club nominates one player to be considered for the Roberto Clemente Award presented by Chevrolet in an effort to pay tribute to Clemente’s achievements and character by recognizing current players who truly understand the value of helping others.”"

Wednesday, Sept. 17 is Roberto Clemente Day.

Clemente, who played his All-Star career with the Pittsburgh Pirates, died in a plane crash in 1972 on New Year’s Eve delivering supplies to earthquake victims in Nicaragua.

Last year the winner was Carlos Beltran. Fans can vote on the award at:

Here is the complete list of players nominated for the award this year:

Arizona Diamondbacks – Paul Goldschmidt
Atlanta Braves – Craig Kimbrel
Baltimore Orioles – Nick Markakis
Boston Red Sox – Craig Breslow
Chicago Cubs – Anthony Rizzo
Chicago White Sox – Paul Konerko
Cincinnati Reds – Skip Schumaker
Cleveland Indians – Nick Swisher
Colorado Rockies – Michael Cuddyer
Detroit Tigers – Justin Verlander
Houston Astros – Jason Castro
Kansas City Royals – Eric Hosmer
Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim – C.J. Wilson
Los Angeles Dodgers – Clayton Kershaw
Miami Marlins – Steve Cishek
Milwaukee Brewers – Ryan Braun
Minnesota Twins – Glen Perkins
New York Mets – David Wright
New York Yankees – CC Sabathia
Oakland Athletics – Jed Lowrie
Philadelphia Phillies – Jimmy Rollins
Pittsburgh Pirates – Charlie Morton
St. Louis Cardinals – Jason Motte
San Diego Padres – Ian Kennedy
San Francisco Giants – Sergio Romo
Seattle Mariners – Felix Hernandez
Tampa Bay Rays – Evan Longoria
Texas Rangers – Adrian Beltre
Toronto Blue Jays – Todd Redmond
Washington Nationals – Ian Desmond