Chicago White Sox: 3 players that can dethrone Ohtani as MVP

(Photo by Katharine Lotze/Getty Images)
(Photo by Katharine Lotze/Getty Images) /
2 of 4
Chicago White Sox, Jose Abreu
(Photo by Ron Vesely/Getty Images) /

Jose Abreu

Jose Abreu of the Chicago White Sox has already won the AL MVP award.

Let’s get the obvious one out of the way. Abreu is one of the most decorated players in franchise history. In 2014 he won Rookie of the Year and finished fourth in the MVP voting. He has been on the ballot every year of his career since then except for 2016. He still managed to win a Silver Slugger award that season.

He is making a legitimate case to be in the Hall of Fame. He is a three-time All-Star, two-time Silver Slugger winner, three-time AL Player of the Month winner, five-time AL player of the week winner, and 2020 AL MVP winner. In 2017 he joined the elite company by becoming the fourth player in MLB history to start his career with four straight with 25+ home runs and 100+ RBIs.

His 2021 season was not the best that Abreu had to offer but he still managed to put up a .261/.351/.481 slash line with 30 home runs, 117 RBIs, and a .831 OPS. This production came despite the fact Abreu was going through the toughest season of his career. He battled multiple injuries and was constantly getting drilled by pitches.

Abreu is showing no signs of slowing down. With his improved defense at first base, a full season of lineup protection (barring any unforeseen injuries), he should continue to be in the MVP conversation.