Chicago White Sox at Cleveland Indians Starting Lineups (5/4)


May 3, 2014; Cleveland, OH, USA; Chicago White Sox catcher Tyler Flowers (21) hits a single in the eighth inning against the Cleveland Indians at Progressive Field. Mandatory Credit: Rick Osentoski-USA TODAY Sports

If the Chicago White Sox don’t win this game on Sunday against the Cleveland Indians at Progressive, this weekend three-game series will be a total failure.

The White Sox are currently three games under the .500 mark at 14-17 overall, and haven’t played very inspired baseball in either of their losses to the Indians, losing Friday by a 12-5 score and on Saturday at 2-0.

They’ve either wasted runs on offense, left way too many runners stranded, or as the case on Saturday … wasted a solid pitching performance by Scott Carroll.

In today’s game the White Sox have Andre Rienzo (2-0, 4.05 ERA) on the hill as he will opposes Corey Kluber (2-3, 4.14 ERA) of the Indians.

Rienzo has eight strikeouts this season in 13.1 innings pitched. In his 11 innings against the Indians for his career he’s 0-1 with a 6.55 ERA with eight strikeouts.

Rienzo enters game at 2-0 overall

For the Indians, Asdrubal Cabrera and Lonnie Chisenhall each have a home run against the Rienzo.

Kluber is 2-1 all-time vs. the White Sox with a 3.63 ERA with 25 strikeouts. His time against the White Sox is 34.2 innings pitched.

Paul Konerko and Dayan Viciedo each have a home run against Kluber. In 11 at-bats against Kluber, Adam Dunn is batting .273.

More from White Sox News

This game will air in Chicago on CSN and in Cleveland on SportsTime Ohio. The game is also available on MLB.TV in out-of-market areas. On the radio, the game will be on WSCR 670. First-pitch is scheduled for 1:05 p.m. ET

Here are the starting lineups for the White Sox at the Indians for Sunday, May 5:

Chicago White Sox (14-17)
1. Alejandro De Aza (LF)
2. Gordon Beckham (2B)
3. Jose Abreu (1B)
4. Adam Dunn (DH)
5. Dayan Viciedo (RF)
6. Alexei Ramirez (SS)
7. Jordan Danks (CF)
8. Tyler Flowers (C)
9. Leury Garcia (3B)
Starting Pitcher: Andre Rienzo (2-0, 4.05 ERA)

Cleveland Indians (13-17)
1. Nyjer Morgan (CF)
2. Nick Swisher (1B)
3. Michael Brantley (LF)
4. Ervin Santana (3B)
5. Lonnie Chisenhall (DH)
6. Asdrubal Cabrera (SS)
7. Daniel Murphy (RF)
8. Jose Ramirez (2B)
9. George Kottaras (C)
Starting Pitcher: Corey Kluber (2-3, 4.14 ERA)

Subscribe to the Southside Showdown free daily newsletter from FanSided by clicking here or add the the FanSided mobile app by clicking here. Please follow Southside Showdown on Twitter and like us on Facebook.